Windows Backups - Ensuring Backups are Running

Status Messages

The Status view in your Backup Exec Desktop/Laptop Agent shows you real-time information on what files are being backed up, what files are scheduled to be backed up and your network and local disk space usage.

A Job is Running

When the Agent is in the process of backing up files from your computer, a progress bar appears at the top of the Status view and the Status window indicates that “A Job is Running”. At this point the agent gives you the option to ‘Suspend’ the job, which will temporarily pause the file(s) being backed up.

Pending Files

Just below the active jobs progress bar, there is the option to “Show Pending Files”, by clicking on this you can see a dialogue window that lists files that are waiting to be backed up. The files that appear in this window are normally open files that need to be closed before they can be backed up by the agent. Commonly seen files in this window are those related to email programs such as Outlook and Thunderbird.

If you’d like to have these files back up immediately, close the programs that are currently open so that the files are no longer being actively used. This will automatically start a new job to backup the files listed in the pending window.

Usage Summary

At the bottom of the Status window, you’ll see the Usage Summary. This is a quick summary that displays the current Network usage and Local usage of disk space for backed up files.

The Network usage is the amount of data that has been backed up from your computer to the SC&I backup server, whereas the Local usage is the amount of data that has been backed up locally to your own computer. The Local backup is normally used as a cache for backups, wherein your files are initially backed up locally (for example, in the event that you’re using a laptop that is currently not connected to the SC&I network) and then uploaded to the SC&I backup server whenever a proper network connection is detected.

The Usage Summary can also be displayed verbosely. Below the Network and Local usage, there is a Details link that shows you the Usage Details of your computer. These details include your total network usage quota, your available network space and your local usage/available space.

The Usage Details summary also allows you to view Job logs which allows you to see which files were backed up and/or which files failed to back up for whatever reason.

Backup Selection

Backup Selections allow you to choose which folders (aside from the already preselected folders, indicated by a check-marked box that’s been grayed out) you like to have backed up to the SC&I backup server.

Standard View

The Standard View is the easiest to use because it operates a lot like Windows Explorer in terms of navigation of your system files. You can explore your computer and find the folders that normally store data to and check the boxes next to the folder/file names in order to have them backed up by the Agent.

Once you’ve finished selecting all of the folders you’d like to have backed up, you click on ‘Save changes’ right below the dialogue window and the Agent will immediately begin looking through those folders for data to back up.

Advanced View

The Advanced View shows you the list of items you’ve selected in your backup profile and allows you to add more backup items with special options attached to them.

Clicking on the Add option below the Advanced View dialogue window allows you to add a new backup item to the list. The dialogue box that pops up when you click on the Add option, asks you to select a folder/file that you would like to have backed up.  This along with other details such as Description is asked for in the General tab for this dialogue window.

The second tab, Include/Exclude, allows you to include and exclude files by file type. Clicking on the radio button “Include and exclude only the items listed below” allows you to add special file types to be included or excluded in your backup of your system folders.

History

The History View is a comprehensive tool that uses the backup logs to show you the backup and restore history of your files. These records indicate failed, cancelled, and completed jobs that are very useful in determining what files have been backed up from your computer and what files were restored. These tasks are time stamped and also include a number of useful details such as the number of files transferred to the size of the files that were transferred.

Refer to the History of your backup jobs when you are unsure about whether your files are being backed up or not.